Independence Day Gratitude

5 Jul

I don’t know about you, but Independence Day fills me with thanks. I’m thankful for my Savior; for my family; for my country; for good food and hard work and fireworks and togetherness. I had a whole lot to be thankful for this Fourth of July.

I’m thankful for hard work that allows us to own a home where we can proudly display our nation’s beautiful flag.

I’m thankful for pretty geraniums blooming on my front porch.

Today I was really thankful for delicious holiday food. I’m convinced one way God shows His love for us is through food!

Ribs and corn on the grill…

Perfectly-cooked fried green tomatoes…

Peach cobbler made from scratch with Chilton County, Alabama, peaches.

I’m thankful for a healthy, smart, silly boy who loves Jesus and eats his vegetables. (Oh, and this is “Baby,” his ever-present companion.
I don’t know who would cry more if we lost Baby, him or me.)

I’m thankful for the hard work John and I did to prime our bathroom.
No more bland and boring beige walls!
A nice, light sage green is coming this weekend.

I’m thankful for sweet holiday arts and crafts from Mother’s Morning Out.

And I’m thankful for the fireworks we got. They made us all three very happy.

I know Thanksgiving is the traditional time to express thanks, but the Fourth of July puts me in a much more pronounced mood of gratitude. What a blessed life I lead. Thank You, Lord, for the blessings of my family and my nation. May I be worthy.

One Response to “Independence Day Gratitude”

  1. Fayelle July 7, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Beautiful!

Leave a comment