Top 10 Tuesday: Books I want to see as movies

12 Apr

Each week, The Broke and the Bookish hosts the Top Ten Tuesday. Click here to see other participants!

This week’s theme is “10 books you want to see turned into movies,” and I admit at the outset that I’m playing fast and loose with the terms of the meme. Some books are just fine as movies (theater or TV) but others demand to be TV series! There’s just too much goodness, especially in a series of books, to be confined to one movie. So I’m cheating. 🙂

1. Diana Peterfreund’s Ivy League series, more commonly known as “the Secret Society Girl books,” is my number-one top wish of all! These books are just pure college heaven. I adore the world Peterfreund created for Amy Haskell at Eli University, and the secret society, Rose and Grave. The books are smart, funny, sad… everything you want! And Poe! Oh, Poe, one of the best love interests EVER! I would absolutely adore seeing this as a TV series. ABC Family, are you reading?!

2. Heather Webber’s Lucy Valentine series. Lucy has a touch of ESP and can find missing objects by touching something else a person owns. She uses her gift to find missing people and to reunite lost loves. These books have a wacky cast of characters from Lucy herself to her boyfriend, her parents, her friends, and her grandmother. Even Lucy’s pets have great personalities. There’s way too much here for one movie, so I would love to see this as a TV series. Women would eat this stuff up!

3. Where, oh where, has Diane Setterfield gone? She wrote one fabulous book and then disappeared! The Thirteenth Tale is creepy, gothic goodness, a mystery spanning generations. I read it (listened to the audio, actually, which was fabulous) when I was pregnant in 2007, and I still get the creepy-crawlies when I think about it. This would make such a cool movie. Or a nice little miniseries production on PBS!

4. The Hex Hall series by Rachel Hawkins. Such a fun and unique story! I admit that I haven’t even read the second book yet (gasp!) but I loved the first book. There will be a third, so maybe a TV series would be best. Is this meme making it clear that I don’t watch a lot of movies? 😉

5. I’ve only read the first two installments of Julie Hyzy’s White House Chef series, but I’m hooked. I love getting a peek into the behind-the-scenes action at the White House, the recipes included in the books, and chef Ollie’s sleuthing. There’s more suspense in these books than in a lot of cozies, and I like that. You shouldn’t be surprised that I want to see this as a TV series, too.


6. So far, Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins is still the best book I’ve read all year. It has romance! Paris! A believable female protagonist! A super-swoony love interest! And did I mention Paris? This would be a fabulous movie, a delightful popcorn rom-com to see with your girlfriends or your mom. Want.

7. Here’s another series of which I’ve only read the first book. I just have too many things on my to-read list! Still, I know that Diana Peterfreund’s “killer unicorns” series would make a really cool movie, or even a series of movies. It’s got a very unique hook, and it takes place in Italy. Imagine the cool scenery and CGI effects needed to create the unicorns!

8. My book club chose Karen Russell’s Swamplandia! as our first book and we had a wonderful, deeply intellectual discussion about it that lasted nearly three hours. The story is too fantastical to believe and seems made for the big screen. If you’ve read it, imagine what a wacky and wonderful job Tim Burton or Baz Lurhmann could do with this! Wow! I call movie for sure!

9. I really, truly love Shannon Hale’s book, Austenland, in which a modern-day girl wishing for love travels to England and immerses herself in a role-playing game that mimics the Regency period. There’s already a fabulous similar movie called Lost in Austen, but in that one, the girl literally goes back in time. This one is just different enough that it would make a fun movie. It’s got all the elements of a great chick flick!

10. And finally, a movie I would really love to see is Jenny B. Jones’s Save the Date. Jones writes such great characters in this fun, sweet, and unique story. I want to see this happen!

7 Responses to “Top 10 Tuesday: Books I want to see as movies”

  1. trish April 12, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    Yes, The Thirteenth Tale is on my list too! It’s got all the makings of a fabulous movie.

  2. Julie Hyzy April 12, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    What a great list! Thanks for including my WHChef novels. I’d love to see them on either the big screen or on TV, too!

    • Danielle April 12, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      Thanks for reading, Julie! 🙂

  3. Brenda April 12, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    SSG would make such a fantastic series! Sigh.

  4. Ane Mulligan April 12, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Have you read Crossing Oceans, by Gina Holmes? It’s amazing.

    • Danielle April 12, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      I haven’t! I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SUPER exciting movie news!!!! « Mississippi Mama - July 7, 2011

    […] too long ago I did a Top Ten Tuesday installment about books I’d like to see as movies, and Austenland was on the list! And I gave it a glowing review here and it was my February book of the month here. I guess you […]

Leave a Reply

