The newest member of the family!

14 Mar

We’ve got a new baby! No, I didn’t give birth and weirdly forget to mention it here. We decided, on a whim, to get a Kindle! I’ve been aggressively noisy about my dislike of all kinds of e-readers for ages now, but I just couldn’t deny their good points any longer. I’ve been saving up SwagBucks for over a year and buying Amazon gift cards with them, $5 at a time. I’d saved up over $260 in my Amazon account and meant to use it for a D-SLR camera, but realistically, it’ll take me years to save up enough to get that completely free. So when I really investigated the Kindle and saw how cheap e-books are, and how many we can get for free, legally, the choice was easy. We researched on a Sunday, bought on a Monday, and it arrived on a Wednesday! We had a couple days of grief when it wouldn’t connect to the WiFi in our house, but my husband did some techy stuff I don’t fully understand, and by Friday night, we were good to go! And let me tell you: Paying exactly ZERO AMERICAN DOLLARS for something that retails for $139 feels awfully good. Thank you, SwagBucks! (Sign up at that link and start earning your own! It’s fun and easy!)

I don’t understand this particular phenomenon, but I’ve heard it’s true for others, too: I read a lot faster on the Kindle than I do in real books. Time will tell if it’s the shiny newness of it for me, but I’ve managed to complete two books and a short story since diving in Saturday morning (today’s Monday). This is exciting!

Thank you, UPS man!

The packaging is so simple. The Kindle is out of the box in seconds.
We’ve named ours The Bookmobile. 🙂

I bought a cover at Target that I don’t like much at all.
So I ordered this cutie from Built and will be returning the other one.
We have a Built laptop sleeve, and I love that one!
(And yes, I got this for free, too, thanks to SwagBucks.)

This isn’t my hand. My nails would never be that plain. 😉
The Bookmobile is lightweight and easy to hold. It takes no time to get used to it!

So far, I love it! Maybe someday I’ll let my husband read something on it, too. 😉

2 Responses to “The newest member of the family!”

  1. Schmidty March 14, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    Hey! Don’t you love it? I think it’s great you have a cute cover. I just have a black leather one, but it works pretty well. And you’re a total rockstar for getting it for free! Mine is first generation. I wonder what the differences are between them.

    What books are you getting for free?

    • Danielle March 15, 2011 at 8:46 am #

      I do love it! It only took about a day to get used to how to hold it, page turns, etc. I’m happy we got it.

      I think there are big differences between the first gen. and this third gen. one. This one’s lighter and thinner, and the keys are all different. I guess I didn’t pay much attention to it until recently, so I was really surprised to see photos of the first one. It’s changed a lot, unlike Apple who barely makes a tweak to their products and then launches a huge marketing campaign!

      I check the free books list at Amazon frequently. And any classic printed before 1923 is free, so I’ve been getting some of those to re-read or read for the first time. And then Christian booksellers like Monergism or Ligonier offer things for free from time to time, too!

Leave a Reply

