Christmas Tour of Homes 2010

13 Dec

Hi there! You may be joining me from The Nester’s 2010 Christmas Tour of Homes. Glad to see you here. I participated in this the very first time it happened, when BooMama hosted it, but something’s kept me from it every other year. I’m happy to be back!

My husband and I live in Mississippi and have a three-year-old son who’s very in to all things Christmas this year, so we have lots of COLOR! I like to do something a little differently each year, or add something new. This year it’s my mantel and a sweet little deer. So have a look around…

This fella greets you on the front porch. My aunt got him for me at At West End‘s outlet (I’m so sorry if you don’t live in the Jackson, MS, area, because you would LOVE that place!), I painted him to be a shabby white, added fake poinsettias to his planter, and topped him off with a sweet bow my aunt made. I love this guy.

And then I decided I’d rather have him over by the front door. I’m allowed to change my mind! πŸ˜‰

Here’s a close-up of my new wreath. My mom and I shared a box of 100 shatter-proof ornaments, and my aunt made the bow. A little placement and hot glue, and voila: a lovely new wreath. My old one was similar, but my mom made it five years ago, and the old girl was looking a little shabby and not so chic.

Come on inside! The high today here is 30, and in Mississippi, that’s COLD!!

Our tree at night. Yes, it’s fake, and yes, it’s pre-lit. I’m a big fan of multi lights, too. Can’t imagine having it any other way. I know that’s not the trend these days, but I’m not very trendy anyway!

We have this little three-footer in the kitchen. I love that I can sit on the couch at night and see the big tree, the little tree, and the mantel. So much color! This tree holds Ole Miss, Mississippi State, and New Orleans Saints ornaments and nothing else. Hotty Toddy, Go Dawgs and Who Dat!!

This painting hangs on the laundry room door. I painted it last year at Easely Amused. Sorry for the black boxes, but I’ve obscured our last name, and my husband (John) and I have a policy of not showing our son’s face or using his name on public parts of the Internet. We call him OT for short. Oh, Dacey is the cat. She said it was okay to show her name. πŸ™‚

I also painted Rudolph last year at Easely Amused. He hangs by the mantel.

And now for this year’s new thing. I tried something with my mantel and hated it, so $20 at Hobby Lobby later, I’d gathered up silver bits and bobs and just re-did the whole thing. I love it now! Check it out…

From afar. Believe me, the lights and the sparkly bling are so pretty at night. The photos are OT’s Christmas card pictures from 2008 and 2009. We got a cute one of him this year, so there will be another frame to add to the group next year!

I got two boxes of silver/mercury glass balls, silver bead garland, a few picks of silvery things, a couple blingy ornaments, and some candles and tall holders (on clearance)!



Don’t you just love an apothecary jar? I got mine a couple years ago at TJ Maxx and use it all the time. I filled it with a few leftover ornaments and some sparkly crystals I’ve had for years. The candle is just wrapped in a glittery silver ribbon and held in place in the back with straight pins, but something was missing, so…

I got a $1 snowflake ornament at Walmart, superglued a thumbtack to the back of it, and stuck it into the candle. I saw these for sale at a Christmas show recently for upwards of $20, and since I thought that was basically theft, I decided to make my own. This won’t be the last you’ll see of candle bling from me!

Join me in praying for my mantel. Nothing at all is holding that garland up there other than the sheer force of her own will and determination to survive, so if she falls, there will be a lot of broken glass on the hearth!

THANK YOU for stopping by and reading my post. Feel free to stick around and add me to your reader. I hope to do more posts like this, plus lots about reading and writing. Enjoy, and Merry Christmas!

One Response to “Christmas Tour of Homes 2010”

  1. Sarah December 14, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    What an absolutely beautiful house Danielle! πŸ˜€ You did such a great job. The reindeer is FANTASTIC and I love the shabby white you did.

    My small tree in my apartment this year is pre-lit too. I like that I didn’t have to real with stringing lights around it.

Leave a Reply

