me + books = elevated heart rate

2 Oct

I went to my local library today for their yearly book sale. Two years ago I went in the last hour of the sale, which was a mistake. Hardly anything was left, and there was nothing I wanted. Last year I was out of town on the big day. So this year I was determined to make it. I recently joined the Friends of the Library and offered to help, but they were already full of volunteers. So I just went as a shopper!

I got there half an hour early and read in my car for a bit. Eventually I got in line, which was short when I got there but grew. I was amused to see that a lot of the folks in line were standing there reading! I felt united with my fellow book nerds. 😉 The doors opened at 9:00 and we got in. I felt overwhelmed by all the stuff: tables and tables of hardbacks and paperbacks, all lined up in perfect rows. It was a reader’s dream. I’m not exaggerating when I say my heart beats faster when I’m surrounded by books, by all the possibilities of new things I could be reading. I had to focus or I’d get overwhelmed.

I ended up with a great haul: eight books for $3.75! I got a mix of chick lit and mystery. There wasn’t a single young adult book to be found. The children’s section consisted of about 10 Goosebumps books. Pitiful! Here’s my findings:

Pretty good mix, I’d say! Now I just have to find a place to put them. I have a, um… few other books that need to be read. 😉

2 Responses to “me + books = elevated heart rate”

  1. Sarah October 3, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    I haven’t read any of those books, so I’ll be looking forward to seeing your reviews! I hope you’ll post them. I love book sales like this — so much. Books just make me so excited. 😀

    • Danielle October 3, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

      There’s another one in a couple weeks at another library, too! *excitement* 🙂 And while standing in line, I heard of one that happens every September at a local college. They fill an ENTIRE gymnasium with tables full of books, all $2 and under. I’m going to save my pennies for next year!

Leave a Reply

